Long Distance Relationships suck .. But here’s how we make it less suck-y. 

I remember having a conversation with my boyfriend’s best friend and I told her that I think I was going to fall back, that’s a 20 year old term for letting him and the situation go, because I didn’t want to be in a long distance “thing” at that time and she told me that would be the easy way to do things. Of course, as stereotypical as it is, nothing worth it comes easy. I would have regretted that decision for the rest of my life. He is a God send. We’ve been roughly “dating” since May so I don’t make myself to be an expert in relationships but here are some tips we’ve learned in the last 3 months we’ve been separated.
1. Make time for each other. To make matters worse, we’re both in the military, stationed on almost two different sides of the country. We talk whenever we can . That means when we wake up if we’re not rushing, lunch breaks, after work until we fall asleep, and sometimes all during the day . We’re so obsessed with involving each other in our lives that I asked to fall asleep on the phone. It’s laughable, I know but when you go from sleeping with someone almost every night to having to FaceTime them just to see their face, it’s rough.

2. There aren’t enough sappy moments. I don’t know if that’s a real word but in LaShara’s vocabulary, it’s in there in bold letters that’s how much I use it. Sappy means sweet I-love-yous, telling each other how much we value the other, and sometimes we blow each other kisses over the phone (we’re legit corn balls, a field stock of corn rather). We don’t have the luxury of being able to randomly hug or kiss so that’s our substitute.

3. When you do see each other, cherish it. Take plenty of pictures. Love on each other. Turn the world off if you have to. I get so excited to see him, I literally can’t sleep the night before. I daydream about all the things we can do and I make up an itinerary for wherever we are aaaaaand we end up in the bed all weekend, not wanting to give each other space. I can’t fall asleep without touching him in some manner. (And yes I’m the weird girlfriend that stares at him while he’s asleep). There isn’t a better feeling than laying next to the person you love.

Long distance relationships are hard, extremely hard. But he was worth it 6 months ago and he is still worth it to this day. Be resilient. Love hard and take plenty of pictures and videos. 

Leave a Reply

